Size and Nature of the Collection
The Westlake HS Library Media Center collection consists of approximately 19,000 items designed to meet the needs of secondary students in the completion of curriculum objectives and their personal interests. This library serves approximately 1200 students and 120 staff members.
Materials are arranged according to the Dewey Decimal System of Classification. The collection is updated by weeding, discarding, and replacing materials where appropriate. The collection categories are fiction, nonfiction, reference, biography, magazines, videos, ebooks, catalogs, computer software, and professional. The selection and acquisition of materials is based upon curriculum standards (literacy and Maryland college & career) and adheres to the approved library services (ALA) standard book selection tools recommendations.
The library space contains computer centers, a laminating resource area, a class/patron visitation area, storage areas, circulation desk, AP lounge, and a library office work space. The test coordinator and the teacher resource specialist are also located in the library; the broadcast media production studio is adjacent to the library.
Objectives of the Library Program
The objectives of the Westlake Library Program are founded upon the objectives of the school program. The library exists to support and further the school's effort to achieve its goals. It is in this way that the philosophy, goals, and objectives of the school become the foundation upon which the library program is structured and implemented, including its services, activities, and policies. It is the goal of the library program to provide the resources and skills necessary for students to discover information efficiently and independently.
Roles of the Library Staff
At the high school level, students may be enrolled as library media assistants for 1/2 credit elective course. Click the syllabus link above for more information
W e l c o m e!... Westlake HS Library Media Center
Anthony Cianfichi, Instructional Assistant &Technology Coordinator
Junior/Senior Student Library Assistants
Olivia Hardison, Library Media Specialist
Services and Activities
- Flexible Scheduling allows students and teachers to use the library media center as needs dictate. Teachers may make reservations for whole class or small groups supervised instruction in the library.
- A small collection of videos (VHS/DVD) and audios is available to the staff on a daily basis for checkout. A small collection of English department videos/AV materials is also located in this storage area. Additionally, this video room includes the collection of AVID resources and Westlake Yearbooks.
- Lamination services are provided. "You bring it--We do it".
- The professional collection contains curriculum guides/standards, selected professional books on various subjects, bibliographies, and a variety of book selection tools(catalogs).
- Library computer lab/cart sign-up schedules are in the library media center; keys are issued the day of use (see next page for more details). . Problems with the wireless computers should be reported to the library staff. Requests for training/assistance with computers or other equipment may be directed to Mr. Cianfichi, technology coordinator or to Ms. Hardison, librarrian (see next page tab)
- A-V equipment is issued through the media center. Some equipment may be checked-out for extended time periods. Replacements for blown projector bulbs may also be scheduled in the library media center or with Mr. Hazard, the computer analyst. Reservations may be made electronically for equipment and library space. (click orange tab- page 2 for procedures)
- Inter-Library Loans are available between schools and is dependent on the supply and the approval of the sending school library media specialist.
Giant A+Rewards Program
Recognition of Library Top Patrons
Picturing America Poster Exhibit
Exhibit Student Poetry(Poetry Slam)/National Poetry Month
Teen Read Week
National Library Week
MultiCultural Heritage Displays
Library Policy: Circulation/Accessibility
Students entering the library shall be under the supervision of a teacher; otherwise, unsupervised students will have an official library pass signed by the teacher indicating tasks to be completed. No one student should receive a pass to the library on a daily basis without admin approval. Teachers may also use student agenda books as passes Passes from substitute teachers are not allowed. No pass is required before or after school. Disruptive students will be referred to the teacher, parent(s), the administrative team, and/or banned from the library for at least one grading period.
To allow greater participation by all teachers, requests for library space must be made in advance. Please submit special requests at least one day in advance to allow adequate time to reserve materials and/ or space. Otherwise, the materials and/or the space may NOT be available.
Printer Policy: All computer generated printed pages will be $.10--copies from the copying machine will be $.10--color copies will be $1.00 (see Mr. Cianfichi or Ms. Hardison).
Reference books do not circulate outside the library. Non-reference books may be checked out for a 3 week period and renewed twice. Five books may be checked out at a time. Students are allowed to check out books only if they have no overdue books and have paid all library debts. A fine of $.10 per day is charged for overdue materials. Teachers are exempt from late fees; however, any material that is lost or damaged must be paid by the person who borrowed it. Teachers may check out materials (maximum of 10 at a time) for a 30 day time frame and renew as needed. (See library staff for exceptions). Westlake's ebooks are checked out online and are returned electronically after five days.
This library uses the Destiny online public access catalog OPAC for circulation and management of the collection.