Size and Nature of the Collection
The Westlake HS Library Media Center collection consists of approximately 18,000 items designed to meet the needs of secondary students in the completion of curriculum objectives and their personal interests. This library serves approximately 1100 students and 120 staff members.
Materials are arranged according to the Dewey Decimal System of Classification. The collection is updated by weeding, discarding, and replacing materials where appropriate. The collection categories are fiction, nonfiction, reference, biography, magazines, videos, catalogs, computer software, and professional. The selection and acquisition of materials is based upon curriculum standards (literacy and Maryland college & career) and adheres to the approved library services (ALA) standard book selection tools recommendations.
The library space contains computer centers, a laminating resource area, a class/patron visitation area, storage areas, circulation desk, AP lounge, and a library office work space. The test coordinator and the teacher resource specialist are located in the library; the TV broadcast media production studio is adjacent to the library.
Objectives of the Library Program
The objectives of the Westlake Library Program are founded upon the objectives of the school program. The library exists to support and further the school's effort to achieve its goals. It is in this way that the philosophy, goals, and objectives of the school become the foundation upon which the library program is structured and implemented, including its services, activities, and policies. It is the goal of the library program to provide the resources and skills necessary for students to discover information efficiently and independently.
W e l c o m e!... Westlake HS Library Media Center
Olivia Hardison, Library Media Specialist
Anthony Cianfichi, Instructional Assistant &Technology Coordinator
Senior & Junior Student Library Assistants
Library Hours: 7:00-3:30, Monday-Thursday
Library Policy: Circulation/Distribution/Accessibility
Library Admittance: Students entering the library shall be under the supervision of a teacher; otherwise, unsupervised students shall have an official library pass signed by the teacher indicating tasks to be completed. The student agenda book pass page is also accepted.. Passes from substitute teachers are not allowed. No pass is required before or after school. Disruptive students will be referred to the teacher, parent(s), the administrative team, and/or banned from the library for at least one grading period. In an effort to enhance academic learning experiences, the rules that apply in the Student Code of Conduct for classrooms also apply in the library media center.
Printer Policy: All computer generated printed pages will be $.10--ten cents per page--copies from the copying machine will be $.10--ten cents per page--color copies will be $.25- twenty-five cents per page (see Mr. Cianfichi or Ms. Hardison).
Circulation Policy: Reference books do not circulate outside the library. Non-reference books may be checked out for a three week period and renewed twice. Five (5) books may be checked out at a time. Students are allowed to check out books only if they have no overdue books and have paid all library debts. A fine of $.10 per day is charged for overdue materials. Any material that is lost or damaged must be paid by the person who borrowed it. Westlake's ebooks are checked out online and are electronically returned after five days.
This library uses the Destiny online public access catalog (OPAC) for circulation and management of the collection. Students may search the Westlake library collection online at destinyweb.ccboe.com from home or at school. To login, if desired, just type your school ID and your first name as your password. Students are also encouraged to use the library links on Edline.net for their research . The CCPS Digital Library allows students to complete research activities using reliable academic databases at home or at school including SIRS, Proquest, eScience, and many more.
Giant A+Rewards Program
Recognition of Library Top Patrons
Picturing America Poster Exhibit
Exhibit Student Poetry(Poetry Slam)/National Poetry Month
Teen Read Week
National Library Week
MultiCultural Heritage Displays
Student Library Assistant
At the high school level, students may be enrolled as library media assistants for 1/2 credit elective course. Students are asked to complete an application with teacher recommendations. Click the syllabus link for more information(edit text)